Gruden on Miami job–“Pure Speculation”

It appears as if fans of Jon Gruden the broadcaster can rest easy. It appears that the rumor “hurricane” (couldn’t resist) that arose after Randy Shannon’s firing were just that.. rumors.

When asked why he met with Hocutt, Gruden said “Well, I don’t want to get into it, really,”“This was just an exploratory meeting and there was nothing ever really serious about this. My brother went to University of Miami medical school. I’m a big fan, I want the Hurricanes to do well and if I can help them in any way find the right coach, I want to be able to do that. …

“I’d just like to say I’m committed to ESPN. There’s not a lot to add. I’m very thankful to have the job that I have and I’m eager to try to get better at it. And I know there was a lot of speculation over the last few days, and for that, I’m sorry. I’m just excited to be with Monday Night Football.”

So it appears that we’ll still have the joy of hearing Ron Jaworski and Gruden drool over Tom Brady and Mark Sanchez Monday night… not that it’s likely to change anytime soon unfortunately.

For Hurricane fans, the next possible candidates to replace Shannon?

-We hear….Mississippi State’s Dan Mullen, Stanford’s Jim Harbaugh and Arizona’s Mike Stoops could potentially be in the mix.

Leave a comment

Filed under NCAA, NFL

Leave a Reply

